Auto Insurance

Call 877.259.7008 for Quotes



Understand your policy. Drive safely. Save money.


Brush up on your car insurance knowledge before you buy. Learn about the different types of coverage, find out what you are required to carry, and what you should add based on your needs.


Florida Auto Insurance Laws

In Florida, all drivers are required to carry coverage on vehicles with four or more wheels. Proof of insurance is required when you register with the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles, and you must have at least a certain amount in order to drive legally. If you have been in an accident or have been convicted of certain offenses, the State may require that you purchase other coverage such as Body Injury Liability (BIL).

Premium rates are adjusted for each driver. Various factors determine the price you pay for coverage, including your driving history, age, zip code, and the value of your vehicle.



Florida Minimum Requirements

Personal injury protection (PIP): $10,000

Property damage liability (PDL): $10,000



Types of Coverage


Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Coverage that helps with injury-related expenses, regardless of who is at fault. It covers a broad range of services depending on the outcome of your crash. PIP can help pay for healthcare and rehabilitation costs, lost wages if you miss work due to an accident, and funeral costs, among other expenses.


Property Damage Liability (PDL)

PDL covers costs such as harming another vehicle, landscaping, lamp post, fence, mailbox, or even house with your car. If you hit anything falling under the property definition, you will need to utilize this coverage in order to pay for damages caused to the other person’s property.


Bodily Injury Liability (BIL)

A requirement for certain drivers with accidents or traffic violations in Florida, BIL helps pay for costs related to severe injury or death if you cause a crash. It’s not a bad idea to carry at least a small amount of this coverage even if your driving record is flawless.


Collision Coverage

On the flip side of PDL, there is collision coverage to handle the cost of repairs or replacement impacting your own vehicle when you hit something. We’ve all been there.


Comprehensive Coverage (Comp)

Coverage that should be a staple in Florida thanks to hurricane season and crime, comprehensive insurance will help you fix damages from flooding, theft, vandalism, hail, fire and animal collisions, among other qualifying non-collision coverage expenses.


Medical Payments (Med Pay)

Med Pay coverage is wise to carry in order to protect yourself and your passengers in case of an accident. You can use it to pay for medical services obtained as a result of the crash.


Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM/UIM)

Believe it or not, some drivers pass under the radar without sufficient coverage – sometimes none at all. UM and UIM policies connect you with the liability coverage (property damage and bodily injury) you need to address any claims involving an uninsured or underinsured driver who is at fault.


We know it can be difficult to determine how much coverage you need and should carry versus how far you can reduce your premium rate within the State-issued guidelines. We strongly recommend considering each of these coverage types when you buy a policy, keeping in mind your own driving record, your budget, the car you drive, and how often you use your vehicle.

Fill out the secure form below in order to get a free, no-obligation Florida auto insurance quote. An Agent will be happy to work with your situation and help you choose the best plan while saving you as much money as possible.

We take great care with each of our customers, and will never sell you coverage you don’t need or want.